Posted by: Catholic of Thule | September 2, 2010

Happy Birthday to Zoë Sunniva!!!

Today (3 September here and in Ireland, though not according to wordpress yet) my lovely goddaughter, Zoë Sunniva, is one year old! A very happy Birthday and many prayers from her devoted godmother!

Of course, I have to be devoted from a distance, as I still haven’t been back to Ireland since I moved to Norway in September last year. So, sadly, I haven’t seen Zoë in real life since the days after her memorable baptism in the beautiful church of St. Kevin’s. I have, though, had the pleasure of some photographic updates here, on email, and on facebook, as well as a charming performance for the camera during a skype call. It must be admitted that it doesn’t take much for such performance to be described as charming. She pretty much just has to be there without positively wailing!

It was my brilliant plan to post some photos and videos taken a couple of days after her baptism, but I find myself a little technologically challenged at the moment. Flash uploader won’t find the videos, and browser uploader will find them, but won’t upload them.  I might try again whenever I get some poor soul to help me out.  Her parents do not have internet access from their new abode at the moment, but I’m also eagerly looking forward to updates on their sites when possible!

Here’s a cute one from her mummi’s website taken a few months ago:

And here are a couple taken almost a year ago with proud Mummy and proud but tired daddy:

It should be mentioned that Zoë’s birthday falls on the traditional feast day of  Saint Pius X of Pascendi Dominici Gregis and Oath Against Modernism fame. What can a godmother do but wonder what graces God has in store for a child under such illustrious patronage. Our times can certainly do with a wee adherent of pope Pius in his fight against the heresies of modernism!!!

And so it would seem appropriate to invoke the intercession of St. Pius through the collect of the Monastic Diurnal for the feast day:

‘O God, who for the defence of the Catholic faith and to restore all things in Christ, filled saint Pius, the supreme Pontiff, with heavenly wisdom and apostolic strenght, mercifully grant that following his teaching and example, we may attain to our eternal reward. Through the same Jesus Christ, Thy Son our Lord, Who with Thee liveth and reigneth in the unity of the Holy Ghost, God, world without end. Amen’

As if this was not enough, the modern liturgical calendar furnishes Zoë with more papal patronage in the form of the St. Gregory the Great.  And I will obviously not forget to seek the intercession of Zoë Sunniva’s namesake saint Sunniva, the Irish patron saint of western Norway, on this day.

Responses

  1. 😀 😀 😀

  2. She is an angel! Happy birthday to the lovely baby girl! I hope/ pray for a life of health and happiness and faith for her!

  3. […] its most intense level for the next three weeks. I will be spending Holy Week with my goddaughter Zoë Sunniva.  Incidentally, I hear her parents will also be about, as will her wee unborn sibling, though he […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

